In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

29 and Deep Fried

This past Sunday was my birthday. I turned 29 years old.

Weird.

Skunks

Who imagines being alive this long? Surely I would have been killed in a traffic accident or something gang related, but no I am still here … turning 29 years old.  I am scared to get older… who isn’t? However I think I am more in shock. Wasn’t I just 16 years old like yesterday? Wasn’t turning 21 while breast-feeding still like an hour ago?

Time has passed before my very eyes… and I now have been  alive 29 years. What the….

The shock has not subsided.

So…. I didn’t do anything to celebrate my birthday. I couldn’t.

Friday I went into panic year before 30 years old panic. I went to the store and bought all these facial creme and washes because if I am going to turn 29 years old I am going to damn well look at least 26! I was gone ho to start taking care of my skin, use the appropriate aging products and all that jazz.

I applied it Friday night, Saturday morning, then spent all afternoon  in the sun. And my facial wash and creme baked on my face  BURNING THE SHIT OUT OF MY FACE especially MY EYE LIDS! My eyelids were dark, wrinkled and puffy.

I aged 70 years  over night. Or got in a fight or cried my eyes out.

I was hideous! There was no way in hell I was going anywhere. And the whole situation made  me more mopey and depressed. I was so sad.

My hubby promised to make it all up to me next weekend, when I won’t look like a deep-fried chick.

Truth is, I don’t feel any different.  In my mind I am still 19. I will probably forever feel 19. The physical part is changing…. and I am trying to will it as much as I can. I honestly want to be fine with getting older but who knows when I will come to terms with it. Once being young is done, its done.

All I ask now is that convenience store clerk card… card the shit outta me please!!

Comments on: "29 and Deep Fried" (6)

  1. Happy Belated Birthday!

  2. I was carded a few weeks ago. It was AWESOME!

  3. Ashley Lopez said:

    I’m sorry u had a crappy bday. I get how u feel though I still feel 19. Just so u know though, most eye cremes and face creams u can’t go out in the sun with because if the retinol in it

  4. Haha okay so I am pretty sure I woke up on the morning of my 25th birthday (two and a half years ago) with WRINKLES under my eyes so I totally feel your pain. I have considered doing these frightening facial things but after reading this… I have some fear. Was the pain worth it? Aging is scary… I’m definitely still about 14 on the inside.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

