In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

I finally saw the movie Slumdog Millionaire.

I know… I know I am late to the game. When did this movie come out?  Three years ago. Hey I wanted to the see “the movie of the year” but it got put on a list and the list just grew and grew.

What is important is that I finally saw it. In case you are like me and doing a big, “huh? What is she talking about?” ,  I will explain this crazy but wonderful movie.

First off, I hate when bad shit happens to good people. In this movie, its kids so its even more intense and sad.

 Right away, you see a bit of the end. A Mumbai teen who grew up in the slums, becomes a contestant on the Indian version of “Who Wants To Be A Millionaire?” He is doing very well for a poor kid with no real education.

Under suspicion of cheating and fraud, he is arrested and interrogated. He is asked by the detective how he knows that answers to the questions. The events from his life history are shown which explain why he knows the answers. From there, he tells his story.

As young boys, Jamal and his older brother, Salim, lived in squalor, and lost their mother in a mob attack on Muslims.

Subsequently forced to rely on their own wits to survive, the desperate siblings fell back on petty crime, eventually befriending adorable yet feisty young Latika as they sought out food and shelter on the unforgiving streets of Mumbai.

They go from being reeled into one of India’s evil child laborers who forces the children to beg and will cripple them or even blind them for more profit to living a life on the train stealing and  selling items. In between events young Jamal grows closer to Latika. When he loses her running from henchmen he never stops thinking of her from adolescence to his teens.

Jamal is still good-hearted boy whereas his brother, Salim, only knows of money and how to make a quick buck. Salim seems to resent Latika and Jamal’s relationship right from the start. He is also a part of the reason  Jamal  looses Latika each time.

Though life on the streets was never easy, Jamal’s experiences ultimately instilled in him the knowledge he needed to answer the tough questions. Each chapter of Jamal’s increasingly layered story reveals where he learned the answers to the show’s seemingly impossible quizzes. But one question remains a mystery: what is this young man with no apparent desire for riches really doing on the game show?

I really liked this movie. My only regret is that I had not seen it earlier. It’s simply amazing. The story line is seriously top-notch and the acting is beyond great. This movie is a  brilliantly woven masterpiece.

Your emotions will be on an imaginary roller coaster ride the entire time as you blast through a cocktail of blood-pumping adrenaline, powerful secrets, searing heartache and rousing uplift. Slumdog Millionaire immerses the audience in an alien landscape and shows it through the eyes of a young man fighting against history and his own culture’s expectations. Through it all he remains an intrepid, indomitable and pure of heart as an idealized medieval knight.

And he is kinda cute … (Note to self: check how old he is before saying that out loud).

P.S. Then there is awesome thing at the very end. I am not going to ruin it for you but I loved it.

Mum’s the word.

Um so yea… I totally liked it.

Comments on: "Thursday Movie Review- Who Wants to Be A Millionaire?" (6)

  1. iamnotshe said:

    Nice review. You make me want to see this film … cuz the first time around i thought is was contrived and too goody goody … but i remember the childhood stuff and that was really sad and hard. Must see … again!

  2. I was just wondering if you were going to do a movie review soon! You’ve very good at this!

    • Thanks for missing me.
      Its not cause I am not watching movies… thats all I do.
      I just took a few weeks off blogging to recollect the thoughts of Marina.
      And yes Marina now talks in the third person.

  3. I STILL haven’t watched the whole movie. Started it twice… and then I get distracted with things like a toddler and feeding said toddler and toddler wanting to watch Disney Jr. This makes me want to start and finish it next time!

  4. The end was my favorite part.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

