In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Lately I have been watching a lot of movies. I am trying to catch up on all the ones I have missed. I been working hard on developing the perfect queue in my Netflix account.  Its hard work but someone has to do it. This week I saw the movie Devil.

First I have to say that I have general respect for director, M. Night Shyamalan. He has made some really good movies in my opinion.   The Sixth Sense, Signs, Unbreakable,  and even The Village were some thrilling movies.

So I was excited about the mysterious movie entitled Devil. Who wouldn’t be?

It’s firstly narrated in the beginning with a story a mother told about the devil. You know old Mexican folklore. The Devil roams around the world looking for bad individuals to torture.   The story seems to center around a detective who still grieving for his wife and son, killed in a hit-and-run five years ago.

The scene fades to what seems to be a typical day at the office takes a sudden detour into terror when the elevator becomes stuck between floors.  Right before that, a stranger jumps out of the building so the detective is sent to investigate.  Meanwhile, the five strangers who are trapped in the elevator and nothing seems to improve their situation.

The communication radio in the elevator is broken but the guards observe the individuals through the security cameras. Tensions run high among those trapped, so  the police and the detective assume the case. Without being able to contact the individuals, he tries to work out who they are, but he can only account for four of them.

Then they just start miraculously dying. The lights go out and boom one dies. And every one is a suspect.

All the while the one Hispanic security cop is freaking out because he recognizes the Devil’s work when he sees it.

There were a few parts that were intense or chilling. However it wasn’t enough. The five strangers were good enough actors and it felt that the plot was being hurried along.

Not only that I felt the movie was being spoiled by the actual cast. They basically were telling you what was going to happen in the story!

This movie had so much potential. People stuck in an elevator against the Devil!! Crazy concept. But I felt the opportunity to make this a good film was missed.  I was disappointed that the film is very light in the scare factor. In fact one of the trailers before the film elicited a bigger scare factor for a particular gentleman than anything found in DEVIL.

To make a movie (a horror movie)about the Devil, you gotta actually read the Devil’s resume!!

So in a nut shell: It’s tense but it rarely scares because all the truly horrifying things happen off camera. People only get killed when the lights go out, so you don’t actually see the deaths. There’s never a moment that’ll make you jump in your seat.  It has to go dark or you’ll know who the murderer is, and DEVIL executes those moments well, it’s just not able to make them scary. Maybe there isn’t a way to make them scary. Maybe it isn’t trying to be scary. Maybe they don’t need to be scary.

But horror movies….. YES they need to be scary! Especially if they are called DEVIL!!!!

Comments on: "Thursday Movie Review-Change the Name to Almost Scary" (3)

  1. I agree with you 100%. This movie had the potential to be awesome, but it fell short. I was pretty excited about it, too, because I really like his other movies.

  2. I love M. Night Shyamalan (sp?), but I have to say that his movies have been falling off for me lately. I think he’s a tremendous director and writer, and I hope he takes a nice break to come up with something spectacular. I mean, when the preview for DEVIL came on in the theater, people in the audience were groaning/laughing when they saw his name. Not a good sign. I even wrote an open letter to him on my blog about it! I really appreciate your review. I wanted to give this movie a try, but after reading the reviews, I decided to bag it. I’ve been burned before! I hope he is working on something great right NOW!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

