In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

I Should Be In My 50’s

Seriously…. I should be 55 or something. Reason I say this is because I am starting to realize that I was born in the wrong era.

They are so beautiful.

First I must tell you I am the hugest fan of  The Mamas and The Papas. I know the entire back story on them, their names, everything.

I love all their weird ass, drug induced songs. It was the 60’s baby!!

I wish I was there for it.

Music was great back then!!! You can’t go wrong with the Association,  Simon and Garfunkel, Jefferson Airplane, America, The Stones.  My list can go on and one. I remember even listening to these songs as a child and just really loving them. They spoke to me. They entranced me.

Jefferson Airplane

I love their look. The look in their eyes, the style, the pale look.  It looks so classic and gives me feeling of nostalgia. Nostalgia for something I didn’t get to see with my eyes or hear with my own ears.

What was this music even about??

I am not even sure.

A lot of songs felt that had hidden messages, something important to say.

“For What It’s Worth” by Buffalo Springfield was used in the Vietnam era as a protest song.

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young had many songs that were protests of current events that were happening.

Then there were songs that had no real meaning, or actually alluded to the lifestyle that some of the musicians were heavily into.

Donovan is an example with his song “Mellow Yellow”.  This song had some people doing some weird things with bananas. I even read that “Mellow Yellow” was actually about a dildo.

“California Dreaming” by the Mamas and the Papas seemed so deep and metaphorical. Yet it wasn’t about anything other than missing the state  California and Michelle’s (one of the Mamas) love for visiting churches.

I have no idea my appeal to any of this music. My mother was into disco and my father was into Spanish music.

All it took was a closer look into one song and it exploded this whole world of music that I just really fell in love with.  It scares me that my kids won’t have the type of appreciation as I do. Not even my own parents did.

The music told a story about a  time that is now gone.

Sigh….. I wish I was a hippie. Seriously.

Sooooo, one of ya’ll needs to make a time machine before my next birthday.

Just saying. If you were wondering what to get me.

I just wanna lay on grass with others, play guitar on the streets, hitch hike, and iron my hair.

Comments on: "I Should Be In My 50’s" (9)

  1. iamnotshe said:

    Hi Love … i want to catch up with you … i’m out of sorts. But i will be around to check up on all your CRAZY, CREATIVE STUFF!!! xoxox melis

  2. Yeah, it was a great era! I miss it! You would have been a great hippie!
    We would have hung out together. And probably played basketball. 😉 LOL!!!!

  3. Hippy sisters, we are!

  4. You and me both kid, you and me both. I’m sure if you smoke enough weed you’ll think it’s the 60’s 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

