In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

It was suggested to me to see a movie called The Warrior’s Way.

Yuan, an assassin and the world’s finest swordsman, kills an entire clan but when he also told he must kill the baby of the clan, he refuses. Knowing full well that he disobeyed the order, he packs up and leaves China to find an old friend in the Wild West rather than kill the infant queen of a rival clan. He carries the baby to his friend’s desolate, broken-down town; the friend has died, so Yuan reopens a laundry and settles down, hanging wet clothes, growing flowers, raising the infant, and finding himself attracted to Lynne, a red-haired woman with a tragic past. Lynne is played by Kate Bosworth.

I would tell you who Yaun is played by but it wouldn’t matter. I still don’t know him.

He begins to learn a different way of life, one without constant war and bloodshed. He keeps his sword sheathed knowing that if he used it, his enemies would find him. As he put it in the movie, “The souls killed by the sword would sing.”

However, there are a band of local rebels that terrorize the towns in the area. They are responsible for killing Lynne’s entire family.

The head rebel of these clans men looks for woman with perfect teeth and those are the ones he picks to have sex with. I can only assume. You don’t ever get to that part in the movie. You can assume….

Lynne, was very young, when she was picked by Colonel (the head rebel guy) but she escaped by throwing some potatoes that were cooking on his face, burning him. He then shot her and her entire family. However she pulled through, she began throwing knives in hopes of getting revenge.

First glance it looks kinda cheesy… like one of those Kung Fu movies with the bad bad dubbing.

Hey I like those movies!! They are great for those days when you are clinically depressed!

From onward, the  scenes give you the impression that are watching a rejected Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon like movie. However it gets better.

The baby helps. The baby girl is the cutest baby ever. Every scene that you see her face, I guarantee you will utter the words Awwwwww.

The other members of the town are kinda creepy. They are like circus people. There is a little person, clowns, a bearded lady all kinds of weirdos.

I am pretty terrified of all things circus so that was really eerie to me ever though they are nice people to Yuan and the baby.

So it’s basically Cowboys and ninjas  and ….

AWWWWWWW

There is however awesome cinematography, photography, music, and exceptional sword and knife choreography. The acting and dialogue are also very good. And, humor comes in from time to time.  It also feels like several movies wrapped into one. Like there are elements of the Good, Bad and the Ugly, Hit-man, Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon, and perhaps Kill Bill as well.

What’s not to like?

Yes, there is a lot of gore and you will see heads and limbs lopped off, and blood squirting everywhere. But, here is what I saw. Sheer poetry in motion at times. And, remember: it’s only a movie.

A pretty good one.

I wasn’t regretting an hour and forty minutes of my life so that’s good.

Comments on: "Thursday Movie Review-Not Regretting A Hour and Forty Minutes of My Life" (4)

  1. onedumbtart said:

    So what happened next!!!? Did they get married? Did they kill the rebels?

  2. I always look forward to your movie reviews because you always check out the most interesting movies! I would say I’d have to check this out but the fact the people in the town remind you of circus kind of turns me off and the bad guy hunting for a girl with ‘pretty teeth.’ The little baby girl is very cute and is just adorable! It does sound like a fun movie to check out though.

    • I am always trying to give these B-rated movies a chance you know.
      It was like when I was little I couldn’t sleep with one stuffed animal…. I had to sleep with them all because I wanted no ones feelings hurt.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

