In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Obviously I have been doing nothing but watching scary movies, well you know,  besides eating.

Of course this isn't me. I swallow hot dogs whole.

 

I asked a bunch of people what their favorite scary movies are.

My husband said Brokeback Mountain and the ending of Boogie Nights.

Not only have I been watching scary movies but I watched the many channels’ lists on the to scary movies. So I have until today … no wait, til the end of the week to continue to scare the shit out of myself.

So I developed a list in case you were doing the same. You know… brain washing yourself.

11. Fallen

Det. John Hobbes is convinced that when killer Edgar Reese is executed, all of his troubles are over. But when people he knows and people on the street start to sing the same tune that Reese sang in the gas chamber, and those same people taunt him, he is told that maybe the cursed fallen angel Azazel is behind it all.

This demon/angel can pass from person to person. So this cat and mouse games  drives you crazy through the whole movie.

This movie is eerie. It’s more of a suspense thriller but it keeps you captivated and enthralled the entire movie. The Rolling Stones song that is featured in the movie, “Time is on my side” still freaks me out.

10. Seven

Se7en follows the story of two homicide detectives tracking down a sadistic serial killer who chooses his victims according to the seven deadly sins. This thriller portrays the exploits of a deranged serial-killer. His twisted agenda involves choosing seven victims who represent egregious examples of transgressions of each of the Seven Deadly Sins. He then views himself as akin to the Sword of God, handing out horrific punishment to these sinners.

Fucking creepy!! The whole movie is just dark and edgy! Your heart is constantly beating in this movie. Kevin Spacey who plays the killer freaks me out in this movie. He is nuts!!!

9.Poltergeist

A young family are visited by ghosts in their home. At first the ghosts appear friendly, moving objects around the house to the amusement of everyone, then they turn nasty and start to terrorise the family before they “kidnap” the youngest daughter.

Anything that involves children is scary. Anything that involves this little girl is freaky!! I barely saw this movie recently and I was amazed that this 80’s movie was so good! I loved it!!

And was creeped out by it as well.  In fact, I will never look at closets the same way.

8. The Orphanage

Laura, a former orphan, raises her adopted son Simón together with her husband Carlos in an old house and former orphanage where she was raised. While at the orphanage Simón tells Laura that he has five invisible friends which she believes are a product of his active imagination. Laura decides to reopen the orphanage to cater for disabled children and throws a party. During the party Simón tries to persuade Laura to go and take a look at his friends cabin but she’s too busy. Later on she sees a mysterious masked boy and realizes that Simón has also disappeared.

This masked boy is the most scariest thing ever!! This movie is totally trippy but actually had a god ending.

Bottom line: Children are scary.

7. Rosemary’s Baby

Rosemary and Guy Woodhouse move into an apartment in a building with a bad reputation. They discover that their neighbours are a very friendly elderly couple named Roman and Minnie Castevet, and Guy begins to spend a lot of time with them. Strange things start to happen: a woman Rosemary meets in the washroom dies a mysterious death, Rosemary has strange dreams and hears strange noises and Guy becomes remote and distant. Then Rosemary falls pregnant and begins to suspect that her neighbours have special plans for her child.

This movie, for being old, is pretty good. I spent a lot of the time being angry because no one was helping the mother!!

In the end, you are pretty creeped out.

Never fucking trust the neighbors. Especially if they are old.

6. The Haunting in Connecticut

The Campbell family moves to upstate Connecticut, they soon learn that their charming Victorian home has a disturbing history: not only was the house a transformed funeral parlor where inconceivable acts occurred, but the owner’s clairvoyant son Jonah served as a demonic messenger, providing a gateway for spiritual entities to crossover. Now terror awaits when Jonah, the boy who communicated with the dead, returns to unleash horror on the innocent and unsuspecting family.

I seriously had to stop this movie a few times.  I was freaked out. To think that it might based on a true story. Geez people don’t move into old houses.

5.  The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 1974

A group of five hippies on a road trip through the backwaters of 1970’s rural Texas fall prey to a murderous cannibalistic family making up of a leather-masked chainsaw-wielding maniac, his knife-wielding grave robber brother, and their cannibal chief father and decaying grandfather.

Slasher movies don’t really scare me as you will tell from my list because other than this one there will not be any listed, but this version gives me chills. The Chainsaw Massacre is beyond creepy. Its disturbing. All the characters in the movie are deeply mental. It also sends a very clear message.

Never pick up a hitchhiker! Seriously… you may never know if they belong to an inbred family or not!!! Or if they have a brother who likes to chain saw the crap out of people.

4. The Shining

A family heads to an isolated hotel for the winter where an evil and spiritual presence influences the father into violence, while his psychic son sees horrific forebodings from the past and of the future.

I love this movie. Its brilliant!  Jack never ceases to stop scaring, Wendy is scary just looking at her, and their little boy is freakin weird!!!

I freak out when my girls say Red Rum.

Do!! Stay in huge hotels in the middle of nowhere!!!

3.  Insidious

A gripping story of a family in search of help for their son, Dalton, who fell into a mysterious coma on one ordinary morning. Little do they know that there is much more to this endless sleep than meets the eye as they explore the paranormal, and rediscover the past; the key to getting their son back once and for all.

Yes this movie is fairly new. However, when I saw this movie, I could not sleep for like a week straight! Seriously. I had every light on the house. I never entered a dark room. The demon in this movie is beyond the scariest I have ever seen. I don’t even wanna think of him. All I see it red!!!

Oh my god…. everything is scary in this movie! Everything. It’s by far one of the greatest super natural horror movies in a while.

I don’t wanna talk about it. After all, its Halloween.

2. The Grudge

An American nurse living and working in Tokyo is exposed to a mysterious supernatural curse, one that locks a person in a powerful rage before claiming their life and spreading to another victim.

Let me tell you this movie scarred me for life. I will never see this movie again. Why? So I can imagine little Asian people in the corners of the roof! Fuck no!! Asian people are scary!! Enough said. Especially if they can distort their faces and head!!

Again, I will never see this movie again! Never!!

1. The movie that freaked me out the most…. The Ring

A mysterious video tape is killing off anyone who watches it. Whenever the victim watches it, the phone rings, telling them they have only one week to live. A young reporter named Rachel is investigating these events, but after she and her small son watch the tape, it becomes a race against time to find out why the tape is killing everyone and how it could be stopped.

First off, the girl in the story? Whoa whoa whoa! Who is fucked up enough to come up with this!?!??!  It’s not just the supernatural forces but also  the mystery.  Everyone’s scariest scene is a movie is when the girl is walking down the stairs from the Exorcist. Mine is when the girl coming out of the tv on all fours… and water is everywhere.

OMG…. I am need a hug.

So this was my list.

Give me a few of your scary movies!!!

Comments on: "What’s Your Favorite Scary Movie?" (11)

  1. Fried Green Tomatoes (shudder)

  2. The shining by far is my favorite. But Poltergeist is a close second. But I also love love love The Others with Nichole Kidman. Halloween is another of my faves. I likes indsidious because it reminded me of a throwback ghost story and for the same reason I also enjoyed The Orphanage. For a nice suspensful Itailian film try Susperia, awesome scary and suspensful movie. The Woods is really good as well. They are both slow building but great.

  3. Oh, I love that you saw The Orphanage! That little kid in the homemade scarecrow mask is just the creepiest thing around. I think what we learn from all this is don’t pick up strangers, don’t move into an old house, watch out for children, and listen for people singing the same song and who are following you with a creepy look. I don’t really watch scary movies because I’m a big wuss, I can’t handle it!

  4. I love The Orphanage! And Insiduous freaked me out, too, I saw that creepy guy every time I turned off the lights once the movie was over. The Insiduous guy and the Candyman scare the crap outta me.

  5. I love all scary movies. I think the one that creeps me out the most was The Strangers.

    “because you were home”

    ugh

  6. The Exorcist scared the heck out of me.

  7. I personally think The Exorcist is the scariest movie I’ve ever seen! I still won’t watch it by myself. Another favorite is An American Haunting. Looks like I should watch The Orphanage and see how I like it! I like the way your blog is set up. I just started a few months ago and I’m looking to see what I need to do better!

    • The Exorcist for its time is awesome and admirable. Its a legend.

      As far as the blog… I have learned through just playing around with it. Let me know if you need any help.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

