In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

So for another TV-less night I picked to review the controversial movie called Monty Python’s Life of Brian.

It would help to be familiar with Monty Python and their satire and humor. I never was into them in the past. I had seen a few of their shows and some of their movies. It isn’t until recently that I reopened my door to them and started to discover the actual humor. It’s corny but pretty intelligent and witty.  I actually found  the movie pretty funny! You have to listen closely cause of their quick wit and heavy ass British accents… but if you do, you will hear jabs at religious customs and overall funny scenarios.

 Brian is born the same day as The Messiah in fact in the next stable.  He then spends his life being mistaken as the Messiah.

Brian’s mother is played by a dude. That’s actually really funny.

So anyways, the wise men come bearing gifts. They discuss the he is a Capricorn. Then the “mother” tries to kick them out.

Wise Man #1: We were led by a star.
Brian’s mother: Led by a bottle, more like.

Then they realize they got the wrong manager and come back and take all the gifts from Brian’s mother.  This is how Brian’s  life goes.

My favorite scene is when Brian and his “mother” come home , they find a  Roman officer in their house. The “mother” is somewhat of a prostitute. Brian gets mad and she reveals that his father is not who he thinks it is but is actually a Roman officer called Naughtius Maximus.

Brian gasps, ” You were raped??”

The “mother” replies, “At first….”

I almost died. 

Another funny part was a scene at a stoning. They were stoning a man for blasphemy.  Back in the day, the religious leaders had distorted rules and laws that were actually stupid and quite harsh on the people. For instance, you could not say God’s name out loud.

The man about to be stoned replies, “Why am I being stoned? All I said to my wife was, “This meal is so good it’s fit for Jehovah.”

Someone in the crowd says. “He said Jehovah ! Stone him.” And he gets stoned. The Religious Leader says Do not say Jehovah then the people pelt him with stones.

Its dumb but so funny.

The story goes on to tell of how the Jews are sick of the Romans.  People are pretty gullible, searching for a “leader”, so they decide Brian is going to be the Messiah. He cannot convince them he is not. He joins the Peoples’ Front of Judea, one of several dozen separatist groups who actually do nothing, but really hate the Romans. While not about Jesus,  the movie is about those who hadn’t time, or interest to listen to his message.

Oh yea!! And you see Brian completely naked from head to toe and the girl he sleeps with…. Cheers for the British!!

Anyways, Brian is helpless to change the people’s minds, as his every word and action are immediately seized as a point of doctrine.

For instance…

Brian: I’m not the Messiah! Will you please listen? I am not the Messiah, do you understand? Honestly!
Girl: Only the true Messiah denies His divinity.
Brian: What? Well, what sort of chance does that give me? All right! I am the Messiah!
Followers: He is! He is the Messiah!
Brian: Now, fuck off!
Arthur: How shall we fuck off, O Lord?

 Hahahaha  classic!!

Romans finally catch the hapless Brian and he is scheduled to be crucified. Pontius Pilate asks the crowd whom he should pardon, but is fed various “fake” names intended to highlight his strong lisp, much to the their amusement. Pilate eventually orders Brian’s release, but in a moment parodying the climax of the film Spartacus, the various crucified people all claim to be “Brian of Nazareth”, and the wrong man is released. Abandoned by anyone who might be able to help him, the actual Brian remains hanging in the hot sun, and is told by his fellow sufferers, in song, to “Always Look on the Bright Side of Life”.

They all break into song!

I was like … is he singing??

He is! He is fucking singing!!

I liked this movie. It was right up my alley with poking fun at religion and even politics.

Just make sure it’s really .. really quiet when you see it.

Always look on the bright side of death… life is a piece of shit when you look at it!”

 

 

Comments on: "Thursday Movie Review-Jesus Was a Capricorn" (14)

  1. My family are huge Monty Python fans. I have seen evry movie and anything that any of them did on the side. This move was a favorite in our household, despite the fact that my folks are /were christians. I think i could quote this movie line of line if I had to.
    “I wantt o be a woman”
    “You want to be a woman?”
    “I want to be called Loretta”
    “What do you wanna be a woman for?”
    “Well, I want to have babies”
    “You havn’t got any womb!”
    “Just because he can’t have babies, doesn’t mean he can’t have the right to have babies”

    Love it.

    • OMG yes!!!!

      I love how people got all bothered by this movie! its hilarious but was considered all taboo.
      It states facts! People are retards!

  2. I love Monty Python! Did I mention I love Monty Python? My favorite is the Meaning of Life – I chuckle everytime the accountants sail off the cliff 🙂 Plus, their songs are so catchy I maybe humming the Brightside of Life for the next couple of days…

  3. I love Monty Python! I will have to check this one out for sure!
    We are the nights of Nee!
    I fart in your generally di-rection!

  4. I haven’t checked out any Monty Pythons, but I should, because I do like some British humour. This movie sounds like a hoot and a half, I’m glad you liked it! You were watching some pretty crazy ones, but this one looked hilarious! Will have to check it out, I just love your movie reviews. 😀

  5. firecracker3 said:

    The last line: freakin’ awesome! hahaha

  6. My eleven year old’s favorite movie we’ve watched together!!! I am trying to make sure the boy has a sense of humor, even if Social Services takes him away from me. Arm him with the real tools of life.

  7. I’ve seen Monty Python’s Search for the Holy Grail, but I’ve never seen this one. I guess it’s time to watch it.

  8. TheIdiotSpeaketh said:

    A classic! I love all the Monty Python flicks and this is one of the best! Now I gotta go pull out my DVD and watch it for the 120th time…… Glad you liked it. If you had not, I probably would have had to have you killed …..

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

