In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Happy Friday and Happy Music Revolution Day!!!

 

I am a lover of all music. I have my favorite types of genres but for the for the most I can say I am pretty much open to everything.

I will admit that if I had to list my favorite genres in order from most liked to least liked,  rap would be at the bottom of the list. Even when I was younger, only certain types of rappers interested me and it had to sound a certain way. To this day I am picky and I am not really a fan of rap music now. There are a few songs that seem cool but I stay true to my favorites.

My favorite rapper is Ice Cube. Back in the day, he was harsh, real, and I immediately liked all his songs. He was part of the group Westside Connection and to this day they are my favorite rap group (if that’s what you call them) .

Here is a famous song from there that you may or may not have heard.

Bow Down- Westside Connection

My second favorite rapper is Biggie!! Or Notorious B.I.G.

I have so many favorite songs from him. He was a lyrical genius and when I say that I mean that he told a story and made it sound good. It flowed and wasn’t repetitive or like he was trying hard. He was impressive and I think even now after his death he demands respect.

Big Poppa-Notorious B.I.G.

I do stay true to old school rap but like I said there are few new rappers out there that have sparked my interest.

One of them in Ludacris. I think he gets better with each album he comes out with.

One More Drink-Ludacris Feat. T-Pain

Not everyone likes this music. I get it. It sometimes sounds as if they are yelling, shouting  or  speaking so fast. Even I can’t handle most of it. It eventually gives me a headache or I get frustrated. Yet when I get that itch for it…  I can find all my faves loaded on my iPod and I can spin my favorite lyric….

“So you wanna be hardcore
With your hat to the back, talkin bout the gats in your raps “

Peace!!!

 

Comments on: "Music Revolution- Time to Flip the Hat & Bust a Cap" (7)

  1. Great choices! I’m not a huge rap fan either, but you know who I can’t live without? Public Enemy. And I found them late, like eight years ago. I saw that you gave me some Twitter love, and I am currently impeded by both my machine and my brain, but I wanted to say thanks. Also, in the spirit of Music Revolution, if you don’t know the band Roger Clyne & The Peacemakers, check out their website: http://azpeacemakers.com

    I love this band & they’re coming to El Paso on July 6. My favorite albums of theirs are Sonoran Hope & Madness, ¡Americano!, and Honky Tonk Union.

  2. Word Up yo!
    I am like you when it comes to rap. I have always been a fan but it’s not at the very top of my list. There is a certain criteria it must have….the main one being the beat. I must be able to shake what my mama gave me for it to strike with me. I loves me some Biggie! Luda is awesome! You can’t forget Snoop!!!

  3. I love it when you call me big Poppa throw your hands in the air if yous a true playa!!

    LOVE IT!

  4. I love it when you call me Big Poppa!

    No really…I do. Yep, I’m a freak like that. What of it?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

