In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

I was driving home yesterday and I was looking at the trees, watching the trees sway. It was magical.

I just don’t notice the small things. I need to stop whisking through life.  I will admit that I am not an observant person. You can be my own mother who I see everyday and I just don’t notice her small changes to her image. Her hair is brown and she could dye it black and I would never notice until she said, “Can you tell I dyed my hair?” Then  I stupidly act all, oh yea I noticed. And then  I gotta kiss her ass til kingdom come  And quite honestly I didn’t notice. I am horrible. However that’s for another post and another day.

I now realize it is too important to not notice things… it’s too important to rush around. Because I am missing the world. And isn’t the world grand? It is except if you are a cockroach. Everyone hates you then.

Wonderful things are happening all around me. And I am missing them. My eyes are up here and not down here. I need to look down and around. I am walking around like I have blinders on.

This post is inspired by my brother-in-law. He was stopping, taking in the air, smelling the roses. And you know what he found?!?! $100! Yep! Do you know how ecstatic I would be to find a dollar?!!? Yet he found $100!

So I learned my lesson. My eyes are now focused on the ground. I am going to listen to every rustle in the wind. I am going to search endlessly for my heart’s desire. I am not going to leave one stone unturned. I am going to look a second time, a third time. Cause it just might be my bank waiting for me!

And yea yea sure I’ll smell a few weeds here and there. Cause some of them are green and are good camouflage for dollar bills ya’ll!

I am glad I had this epiphany… cause life is just to short to miss the important things.

Comments on: "Stop & Smelling the (Green) Roses" (15)

  1. ryoko861 said:

    Good for you! It’s always enlightening to check the world around you. When you find your $100 that’ll be your reward!

  2. This post made me smile the whole way through. What a great post!
    I learned this lesson after my mom passed away. Life is too short, you never know when it can be taken away from you. You must make it a point to stop every once in a while to take it all in and allow yourself to just be.
    🙂

  3. I’m like you, not always the most observant person ever. That’s awesome that your brother found that much money!

  4. Walking around with blinders isn’t always a bad thing. Unless you’re passing up money.

  5. Great post – I’ve also only being learning this quite recently and still fighting with myself to keep the balance between living a full life and having time to live life to the full with space to enjoy each moment.

    Hope you can keep it up!

  6. Every year at least once I tend to find money on the floor.
    I haven’t found anything yet this year but I’m sure I will soon 🙂
    And NO! I’m not sharing

  7. That’s why I stopped to smell the roses and junk. I was worried I’d pass up a C-note!

  8. Ha, love it, keep your eyes open to the world so that you can come across an hundred dollar bill! But, it’s true, it’s easy to rush through life but you really have to stop yourself to notice the simple, beautiful things around you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

