In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Welcome to Friday’s edition of the Music Revolution!!

I love today! Why? Cause I get to pick what I have been jamming to lately!

Today I am feeling a bit of school jamming back when the music was ever so heartful and pumping.  So this post is going to have some depth in it!

Let Do It!

How can you NOT like Fleetwood Mac?  Stevie Nicks was a true gypsy and her voice was unique and enchanting. Check her out in

Fleetwood Mac-Gold Dust Woman

 Here is another secret. I am totally into CCR (Creedance Clearwater Revival). They were a rock band in the early 60’s late 70’s. John Fogerty led the group in vocals. 

My favorite song from them  is ‘Fortunate Son”. The song is inspired by David Eisenhower the grandson of President Dwight David Eisenhower who married Julie Nixon, the daughter of President Richard Nixon.  John Fogerty told Rolling Stone “Julie Nixon was hanging around with David Eisenhower, and you just had the feeling that none of these people were going to be involved with the war.” This song was popular during the Vietnam War. It is from the perspective of a man who is being drafted who is not “fortunate” enough to the son of a Senator or millionaire. This spoke out against the war in Vietnam.

CCR-Fortunate Son

And just to make sure you are not following asleep…

Vanilla Ice- Ice Ice Baby

Please do not graffiti!

 

As always check out the founder of the revolution and her pics at Girl on the Contrary

Comments on: "Music Revolution: Are Your Ready?!? (As Per Girl on the Contrary" (13)

  1. ryoko861 said:

    Stevie rocks! No other words are needed!

    Though her and Lindsay were the uber couple back then. It’s ashame their egos got in the way. She’s regretting splitting from him.

    Can’t go wrong with CCR! I’m such a Baby Boomer.

    Every now and then Pandora plays Ice Ice Baby and I turn it up! “Word to yo’ Mutha”!

  2. Stop, collaborate, and listen….

  3. Alright STOP collaborate and listen….. I need to shave an eyebrow or something 🙂

  4. I love these old songs too. My mother’s influence on me, I’m sure. Our car radio is permanently tuned it to Classic Rock . Fleetwood mac is Pres. Clinton’s favorite group, and mom tells us he wants Led Zep’s Stairway to heaven to be played at her funeral. aaargh, I find that morbid. One of most favorite old songs is Billy Joel’s Just the Way You Are. First time I heard it,I was blown away. The melody is so beautiful. ( the lyrics too )

  5. Love the song picks for today! Nothing like going from Fleetwood Mac, to a little CCR and breaking it down with Vanilla Ice. WORD!

  6. You had me at CCR. Also “Stop! Collaborate and listen!” I think that’s thew line. I am infamous for getting lyrics wrong.

  7. TheIdiotSpeaketh said:

    When I was a teenager, I had posters of every scantily-clad Hollywood starlet of the late 70’s/Early 80’s on my wall…….along with a huge poster of Stevie Nicks….. I love Stevie Nicks! I got to see FM in London in the 80’s and thought I had died and gone to heaven….. thanks for the great flashback! 🙂

  8. Stevie Nicks does have a haunting voice. I agree with Irene’s comments on her and the old man – such a shame!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

