In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

MTV What’s the Deal?!?

I am a child of the 80’s.  Hoot Hoot!

Please do not pelt me with tomatoes or even stones. True Story.

So I grew up watching MTV. MTV was the greatest, wasn’t it? I loved MTV! You    were not cool if you were not watching MTV!

Remember, I WANT MY MTV! I know I did!

MTV showed all the current music stars and their hits. And of course,  music videos!

Those were the days!

MTV started to get “creative.” Ok, ok, I can dig. What’s this show? TRL. I love it cause its all about more music videos!  What’s this new show? The Real World, you say?

Ok I can dig it. Maybe.  The Osbournes came on pretty soon and by this time, I was not interested in MTV at all. What happened to the music videos?! Now it’s all these crazy shows. They aren’t even about music anymore.

The Hills? Are you freaking serious?!

Now I am hooked on this show 16 and Pregnant. I love Drama, what can I say? So I am watching this and at the end of the show they always promote a way to not get pregnant.They suggest a website so you can know your choices.  I don’t mind this show too much because the stories for all these young ladies that get knocked up is heart wrenching! Poor choices lead to early responsibility and having to grow up faster than you normally would. This show is showing that. Make me not want to have kids.

Wait a minute…..

Despite its entertainment, I see the value in watching it for young woman.

So yesterday, as I was watching and catching up on past shows, MTV advertises their new show Skins. Have you heard of this show?

MTV gives a show summary: Skins is a wild ride through the lives of a group of high school friends stumbling through the mine field of adolescence… and stepping on most of the mines as they go.

We’ll meet TONY; good-looking, witty, manipulative – he wants everything, and usually gets it. Then there’s his girlfriend MICHELLE; gorgeous and clever, just not clever enough to realize Tony may not be the right one for her. And maybe the right one is actually Tony’s best friend, STANLEY. He’s everything Tony isn’t, and that might end up being a good thing. Of course, Stanley is stuck in a pretend relationship with CADIE, possibly the most dysfunctional girl ever to attend a high school… or maybe that’s all just another thing she’s faking. You’ll love CHRIS because, well, everyone does. No drug is too obscure for him to try, and no sexual mountain too high for him to climb. Complicating everyone’s life is the infamous TEA. She likes girls. And girls like her. What more is there to figure out… right? And let’s not forget ABBUD, the not so devout Moslem and DAISY, the responsible one of the group who is just itching to break some rules of her own.

Be it sex, drugs, the breadth of friendships or the depth of heart breaks, Skins is an emotional mosh-pit that slams through the insanity of teenage years. They’ll crush hearts and burn brain cells, while fearlessly confronting every obstacle head on…or slightly off.

 

WTF! I just  finished watching a 16-year-old girl’s life change completely making it 100 times harder to make anything out of her self in life and MTV is showing this shit!

I mean, I am not talking bad about sex. I love sex. Sex rocks. But in case my girls and/or son access this in the future or have magically learned to read I should say: Only mommies and daddies have sex.Now go eat your Cheerios.

Note: I will deal with my kids later on sex thank you!

Honestly, sex is for a mature person who can handle a pregnancy if it happened. Children (cause that’s what 16 yr olds are) have no business having sex. Sex is complicated and makes things complicated! And it’s not something to do or a way to pass time. It’s not a hobby. It’s a display of love between two mature and older adults!

So I look again and MTV  has Dr Drew counseling these young women to be safe, use contraceptive, and now deal with all their hardcore issues in trying to raise their babies. And MTV has Skins promoting free sex?

Am I missing something?!?!??!?!

Can we say mixed messages?

Can we say MTV is confusing teens?

Oh hell yeah!

MTV is stupid now. I don’t what their message is. It’s also no longer Music Television. It’s more like Have Sex, Get Pregnant, and appear on out show television.

Stupid MTV!

Comments on: "MTV What’s the Deal?!?" (12)

  1. This is what I’m saying!!!!! I stopped watching MTV when they stopped showing musci videos. I mean thats what MTV stands for right? “Music Television” or does it mean something else now?? I might as well attach a camera to my ass ehhh umm I mean “hip” and self promote my life! Well maybe not – perhaps I’ll just write a tell all book 🙂

  2. I stopped watching MTV at about the same time Flynn did too. I can understand the fascination that people may have with “16 and pregnant” but considering I had my oldest when I was 16, the entire series just appeared to be a blown out rerun of something I’ve already been through. Things are always harder than they appear to be on TV.

    That being said, I think most media, not just MTV, sends mixed messages. How to we solve this? I say we take the netwerks hostage, have our own damn reality series that shows people how crazy life REALLY is, and get rich and famous. Anyone in?

  3. MTV is nothing but crap to warp kids minds these days. Did you hear that MTV has dropped ‘music television’ from their slogan seeing that they do not play music anymore. So sad..I almost cried. I totally dug the fist 5 or 6 seasons of the real world and then couldn’t handle anymore seeing that it is just one big orgy now. Retarded. I remember way back when mtv was just a baby and my parents didn’t like me watching it. I wonder what they would think now? Its just awful, mind rotting, mixed messages for teens that are way to impressionable to be watching that shit. That’s all it is….SHIT. shit.shit.shit.

  4. I LOVED music videos, LOVED them! It was the stuff for sure! Sometimes I will catch music videos on VH1 when it’s 3AM in the morning and they do a Top 10 or Top 20 songs but even then the music videos are stopped short, which is beyond annoying. I saw a commerical for Skins and totally don’t get it, this is not a good thing to promote to kids/teenagers. Especially when you have something like ’16 and pregnant’ which shows the aftermath of having sex without protection.

  5. LOL that’s crazy they contradict themselves between abstinence and free sex. Remember when my parents didn’t even let me listen to power 102 much less watch MTV imagine now…….

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

