In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Taking a Second

This morning was my daughter school’s Breakfast with Santa. You buy tickets and you are able to eat breakfast with your child in the cafeteria. Santa and Mrs Claus (she needs a first name) were on the stage waiting for hugs and pics with the kids.  It was totally awesome.

Munching on pancakes

Honestly, I am so curious what Savannah does in class all day.  I wonder how she acts, does she follow the kids around, do they follow her around, how does she even interact with kids?  It’s puzzling to me and if I get a glimpse, I am all about it!

I really don’t have shit to write.

So I decided to touch on something gay to my heart.  You see, this blog was not to be anything depressing, make you sad, make you wanna off yourself and definitely not give you a wedgie either.

But some things, no matter how hard to say or explain, must be said.

The worst thing you can do is push the people away that love you the most.  Especially when you are hurting, depressed, and even down on your luck. True, once you’re an adult you are responsible for yourself. Not your mother, daddy, siblings, or even the significant other. They can love you, support you, offer you advice, and be there for you but they can’t make decisions for you. They can’t force you do anything, believe anything, commit to anything. It’s not in their power even if they wanted too.

If you are depressed, hurting for whatever reason, I am not judging you. How can I? Though I can say burying yourself deeper in your own self-pity and choosing to be alone doesn’t help the situation.

This morning as I was taking my kids to their morning destinations,  it dawned on me that no matter how sad I get, or overwhelming things get, or stressed there is just no way no how I can break down. My reason is because of my family.  Especially my kids who know no sadness, no depressing thoughts. They don’t understand that mommy is sad for whatever reason.

I remember getting in an argument with Gus one time. I went and  laid down. I just wanted to lay down, sleep and do nothing. Absolutely nothing. However, my kids would come and talk to me. I was like, “Leave me alone. Not right now baby.”  Didn’t they know I was sad?  I didn’t feel like thinking, let alone talking. They wanted me to get up and play with them, make them something to eat, pour them some juice. Trivial things, but it’s just a reminder that life goes on. And no matter what, I am still a mother. My kids remind me of that everyday on how much they need me. They are also remind me that they are my life. And they don’t stop and neither does life. Talk about a huge attitude adjustment and change in perspective.

Sometimes we don’t realize that we need an attitude adjustment and change in perspective.  I am not talking about being clinically depressed. If you are depressed due to a chemical in balance or what not,  well that’s a horse of a different color. I am talking about just letting the everyday occurrences bother you. Do you have something to live for? Something that puts everything into perspective? Because you have too. Not only does it add life and color to your life, but it’s the reason you get up in the morning. Whether its the job of your dreams, your favorite hobby, loved ones, or your pet Booser.  Everyone has something. And if you can honestly claim you don’t, then you need to take a good look around you and maybe reevaluate your situation.

I don’t have the answers. No one does. Yet, I know what its like to be down. But I know also what its like to pull myself up. To me it’s not about proving to myself that I am strong or not. You have to find something greater than your own heart.

What do I mean? When your heart is telling you, reminding you of all the things there is to be sad about. If you have something that is greater than the power of your heart, then you can make it.  Like I said, my husband and my babies are greater than my own heart.  Find yours. Even if means facing yourself and finding the good in your own being. Rediscover your life, yourself and the  ones that love you most.

Above all, do not forget to love yourself.

Comments on: "Taking a Second" (13)

  1. Always find the silverlining :0)

  2. My kids always have a way of making me smile. No matter how upset or depressed I may be, they break through it all.

  3. Most of the blogs online are pretty much the same but i honestly enjoyed what i read. Bravo !

  4. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the favour”.I am looking for ways to add things to my website!I suppose its ok to use some of your ideas!!

  5. Absolutely beautiful and true. When my mom passed away 5 years ago I wanted to crawl in a hole and hide for a very long time but couldn’t because I was a mom to two kids that needed me, I had to be the wife my husband needed, I needed to be the strong one for my sister, I needed to be there for my step dad. Let me just tell you that is exhausting when all you want to do is morn alone, but I couldn’t, I had to be strong and be there for who needed me. It’s a very tough thing to go through but I had to check myself because as though my world had just fell apart instantly around me there were people there that needed me and that love me and I had pick myself up for them and be there. One of the hardest things I have ever done. Now when I am feeling down about that or anything else I remember why I am here and that is to be the best mom I can possibly be, be the best wife I know how to be, a great friend, a good human. I must be here for the ones that love me.

    • And whats awesome is that it comes full circle. While being there for others, it helps you as well. You get what you need to make you feel better or enough to carry on.

  6. Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    Right back where he belongs
    Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    And back in your favorite Christmas songs

    Frosty the Snowman was Jesus Christ’s best friend
    He stood there melting by the cross until the very end
    You better not shout, you better not cry
    You better not pout I’m telling you why
    Jesus Christ is coming again

    Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    Right back where he belongs
    Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    And back in your favorite Christmas songs

    Jesus the long-haired savior
    Had a very shiny glow
    And if you ever saw it
    You would call it a halo

    Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    Right back where he belongs
    Let’s put Christ back in Christmas
    And back in your favorite
    And back in your favorite
    And back in your favorite Christmas songs

    Jingle Bells, Go to Hell
    If you do not pray

  7. great information shared I’m really happy to see this particular post..thank you for providing people wonderful tips.Great walk-through. I truly appreciate this article.

  8. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was interesting. Cheers!

  9. 2. Excellent work once again! Thank you;)

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

