In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

If you haven’t learned this about me, you will learn that I am a big lover of music. Just by taking a scroll through my iPod, you will learn that I love Elvis, Elton John, CCR, Mamas and the Papas, Britney Spears, Lady Gaga, Marina and the Diamonds,George Strait, Reba,  Florence and the Machine, Metalica, etc etc. Basically a large array of music.

I give everything a chance. It’s important to be well-rounded. Probably physically and musically.

So when Lady Gaga came out, once I heard her music and saw her videos I was intrigued. I like her style in music and in performance.  So I started listening to her music.

Well I forgot that I have two sponges that are connected to my hip.

Savannah (my 5 yr old) is a country girl thanks to her daddy. She loves Taylor Swift, Carrie Underwood, Reba and much more.  My youngest daughter (Sienna, 3 yrs old) never really took to that music. One day I played Hot and Cold by Katy Perry. She loved that song. And that was cool hearing it a million times. I like to kill songs all the time too.

I added a little Keisha’s Tick Tock. Both girls jumped on the bandwagon. So we are jamming to Tick Tock (yes over and over) on the way to school and to my mother’s house every morning.

Well soon I started putting on Lady Gaga. Well now my 3 yr old loves, of all songs, Love Games or the one famous for the so-called Disco Stick. She would sing it and it never dawned on me what we really singing. I loved it, she loved it. Great!

Lately, Gus has been showing them their favorite songs’ music videos. They watch Taylor Swift, Katy Perry, Keisha, and when Sienna suggested Disco  Stick, well, I am sure you can see why Gus was a little perplexed.

As we are watching the video, Gus is paying attention to Sienna sing the lyrics p.e.r.f.e.c.t.l.y. :

Let’s have some fun, this beat is sick
I wanna take a ride on your disco stick
Let’s have some fun, this beat is sick
I wanna take a ride on your disco stick

And then:

I’m on a mission
and it involves some heavy touching, yeah
You’ve indicated your interest
I’m educated in sex, yes
And now I want it bad, want it bad
A lovegame, a lovegame

Gus looks at me shocked, “Do you hear what she is saying?”

Me: “The song?”  I can be stupid sometimes. To my defense, my head is still misshapen from all the times my poor new mother dropped me.

“She wants to ride a disco stick. And she is educated in sex.” He is quite annoyed, slightly mad.

“No,” I say. “Lady Gaga wants to ride a disco stick. And Sienna knows nothing of sex. Sienna, what is sex?”

Sienna stops shaking her hips, “I don’t know.” And she keeps dancing.

“See we are safe.” And I pat Gus comfortingly on the shoulder. He is still not happy with her liking the song.

It makes me think. Am I a bad mom? I remember singing Katie Lane’s Constant Craving when I was a kid. One time I was at Whataburger and I was singing it loud. Sure I got some looks and some pinches from my mother as well. At the time, who cared. It was just a song I liked.

My kids do not watch rated R movies. All they watch is Disney movies and Nick Jr Playschool shows and Barney. They think every man and woman is a mom and dad. They think everyone is married. They don’t understand anything about sex. And they think kissing is only for daddy and mommy.

I know that I refuse to keep them sheltered. I was sheltered and when I was a teenager I hit the rebellious stage hard.  I don’t want them to be like that. I want to experience the world with a good head on their shoulder.

And I put my foot down to any Hannah Montana music. I will seriously lose it if I have to listen to her annoying voice.

So here I am with Dilemma 2. Their style of music. They like Lady Gaga. She is everywhere. At Savannah’s school, they play some of her songs during their P.E. time.

I don’t want to warp their minds. Am I warping their mind?

I am a bad mom.

Comments on: "Let Me Take A Ride On Your Disco Stick" (22)

  1. I just read this on my phone and had to come into my computer to comment..immediately! I am in the same boat! If you are a bad mom than so am I! My daughter LOVES her some Lady GaGa and Katy Perry plus many more musicians with questionable lyrics. I say screw it and let them listen! They don’t know what they are singing about and they are rocking out so I say let them rock it! Here’s one for you..my son loved the song Lollipop by Lil’ Wayne. I didn’t care because he didn’t know what it was about he thought it was about a sucker, well on his birthday last year we are in the car and he yells out “Put on Lick me Like a Lollipop”!! I thought my husband was going to drive off the road. I told him my opinion and he was ok but I have since put a stop to the song as he has gotten older. No more Lil’ Wayne in the car. I don’t mind the kids singing songs with hell or damn in them, its a song and they know they are not aloud to say the words in general everyday talk, so its their way to ‘get away’ with it. Music is music and that is it. If a little girl grows up and becomes a promiscuous teen and the parents blame it on the music they let their child listen to..the parents should be slapped and check their parenting skills. Kids won’t grow up to be little shits unless you let them.
    You are not a bad mom.
    I refuse to shelter my kids from a whole lot as they grow up. Life is what it is..I will not paint a perfect and peachy picture for them to grow up and say “WTF?”

  2. This is so funny and reminds me of two things. First? Something I posted about, my daughter (9 months) is obsessed with Gangsta Rap. Despite my best efforts to steer her towards country she has no interest. At first she’d fall alsleep to it, now she holds on for dear life as she bounces up and down and “dances.” This does not bode well for the future.

    Second? When I was in 6th grade I was in the car with my mother and my new favorite song came on – OPP. You can imagine my mom’s horror as I belted out, “The last P, well that’s not that simple…. It’s sorta like another way to call a cat a kitten
    It’s five little letters that are missin’ here…”

    Cut to that evening where I had a sit down discussion with both of my parents explaining that pu**y is not something we sing, rap or talk about it our family

    • Lol …. your daughter is one hip cat.
      I think I am just coming to reason that I am gonna let them listen to the music they like. And guide them along the way.

  3. You a bad mom?!?!? Nope nope nope. So theres a crazy lyric here and there – there are crazy people everywhere. OH I made a rhythm SWEET! You can count them two by two you can count them, yes you! HAHAHAHA Damn sorry I lost my focus

    • I love you …. but you were no help. You and me are the same … you probably get confused by Dr Seuss as well. J/K
      You’re right …. a lyric here and there is nothing.

      • HAHAH yea the whole “am I a bad mother?” question through me off. My daughter is 14 and she can open beer bottles with a mini lighter better than most of her dad’s friends. (enter disclaimer here: I did not teach my daughter to do this she loves youtube and that site can teach you to do anything) Now I would worry if your 3 year old busted out moves on the poles at school or began her own chain gang. 🙂

      • You’re right. She has no interest in poles or dancing on them. And he whole gang is her sister and her Diego doll. I am safe!

      • By the way, does your daughter cater parties??? Though I would ask!

  4. LMAO. First I must say that your iPod sounds like mine. Great music variety.

    I have never kept music from my kids, especially music that I liked. If its out there, they will hear it. If not at home, at a friends. I don’t want what they do to be hidden from me and I definitely don’t want them to feel like they have to hide anything either. With that said, I’ve have a few of those “holy shit” moments in a store where (15) sang something inappropriate when he was (5). If nothing else, it gave me an interesting story to laugh about with family and friends and a mental note to teach them that there’s a time and a place for certain things. 🙂

  5. Im ok w the girls listening to those lyrics, but i dont want them watching videos that are questionable. When I showed Sienna the music video to Lady Gaga’s Alejandro, I was freaking out cuz of all the imagery. She was asking so much questions (Who is that? What are they doing? What are they doing on the bed?). She’s 3, lets keep her little for a bit longer.

  6. btw, its KD Lang.

  7. “It’s important to be well-rounded. Probably physically and musically.”
    LOL! I’m well-rounded physically! oh yeah I also enjoy a wide variety of music.
    Now to answer your question no your not a bad mom and I’m sure you already now that. I have a 15yr old who as a baby/toddler/child was allowed to listen to every type of music Rap, Disco, Oldies, Classical , Spanish, 40’s, 80’s you name it she heard it. Did my choice of exposing her to every type of music harm her? Nope! I now am a proud owner of a teen who wont complain no matter what I’m listening to.
    *Best moment was when she was 5 yrs old and we had gone to a restaurant where live music was being played and they asked if there were any song request my daughter stood up and asked them to sing “Volare by Dean Martin please” they replied they didn’t know that song could she please sing it for them she stood up and started sing it out loud for them. LOL

  8. Vodka and Ground Beef said:

    You’re definitely not warping your kids. Kids can’t be too sheltered. It always ends badly.

  9. You are not a bad mom at all, don’t say that! A song is a song, it is just a lot of fun with kids and they don’t know what it means so what is the harm? I remember when some songs came out like “Hey Macarana” or however you spell it and you just sang to that without having a clue what you were saying, but it had a beat, and a dance to it, so so what? Just let them have fun, and hell no to Hannah Montanna!

  10. real-life-fantasy said:

    I wouldn’t worry. Lady Ga Ga is everywhere. They probably don’t understand the meaning behind the words. I’m not sure that I do actually!!

  11. I am developing a blog and and i want to change the theme.I got some ideas from here! Feel free to visit my blog and suggest things!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

