In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

My Drunken Epiphany

Have you seen this movie?

Cute movie, right? Well don’t worry. I have not suddenly become a movie critic. I would be horrible at it. My top ten lists  would be Dude Where Is My Car, Wedding Singer, Flashdance, How To Train Your Dragon, The Hot Chick, All Adam Sandler movies, Did You Hear About the Morgans?, Bogus, Signs, Maverick, and Singing In the Rain. Ebert would be rolling his eyes. If he could.

Any who, the point of this mention is that I noticed two characters in the movie. If you can’t remember, google it or then there is not point in reading this blog. Go watch the View or order some shit from the Antique Road Show. Whatevas.

Sarah Jessica Parker plays  Paula, a professional in removing 30 something men out of their parents homes and into the real world as independent men. In the movie, she is educated, street smart, independent, and more than likely the life of the party. She is your ideal woman. The kind that people want around.

Then there is another character that we probably over looked when we saw this movie.  Do you remember Kit? I can see you now. You’re thinking , “Who the heck is she talking about?”

Zooey Deschannel. She played Kit, the trusty roommate and sidekick of Paula.

 

Isn't she lovely?

 

She is the I don’t give a shit, this is who I am, always bumming it at home girl. She is responsible for such quotes in the movie as:

Kit: Shut up, you whore!
Paula: [sipping champagne] Oh I’m sorry, was I sipping too loudly for you?
Kit: No, you were not sipping too loudly. It’s that goddamn bird outside my goddamn window!
Paula: Oh.
Kit: What the hell kind of devil bird chirps at night?

Kit: Yeah, everyone from work went to T.G.I. Friday’s, but I don’t really like that place. Or anyone I work with.
Paula: Oh good, so then we can stay in and watch one of those drinking movies you like.
Kit: [sarcastically] Yeah!

Paula: Hey, hey.
Kit: Hey, Paula. Good news. It’s Champagne Thursday.
Paula: It’s Friday.
Kit: Uh, yeah, Thursday came twice this week.
Paula: For the third straight week.
Kit: There’s talk of making it permanent.
Paula: Oh, kind of like Daylight Saving’s Time?
Kit: Right, but for booze.

I am in love with this girl And then I realized something (me and my drunk epiphanies) cause  four glasses of wine will do that to ya! I used to be like Paula. I was Miss Gotta Be Everywhere, job focused, friends with everyone, social-lite life of the party. I was involved in everything. And now through a marriage and three kids later (not that I blame them or anything, har har har) I have evolved into Kit.

I hate going anywhere now. I love my home. I rather stay home and just chill. My job is just a job. I do it to get paid. Bottom line. I don’t have many friends. I care about people but that’s about it. I don’t need to be around people all the time anymore. In fact, alone time is a sweet pleasure that I don’t enjoy anymore.  I don’t worry about what people think anymore. I just do me. Lazy and proud of it!

Don’t get me wrong. I have not turned into the creepy ole lady with a million cats. I am sure that’s the next step.

And …. I am happy. I have become weird and random. And I was always more of the annoying cheerleader type. I have come with terms of not killing myself, don’t you worry.  I am happy in my own skin. Literally I am pulling my skin as we speak.

Happy. Here.

All Me Baby!

It’s too hard to define women in these two ladies characters. But I have been one and now have receded into the other.

So there you have it. A piss poor blog on a drunken epiphany.

Team Marina!

Comments on: "My Drunken Epiphany" (17)

  1. the drunk thoughts are the best sometimes! But I’m glad your not a cheerleader type anymore! Just saying…..I feel you! Which leads me to a story you WILL love…wait, maybe I just blog it instead….yea….ull have to see it their…it’ll get me blogged for today….was up last night, er this morning dealing with a BIG issue on twitter…I need to tell you about it..ill text…

  2. “Ebert would be rolling his eyes. If he could.” = far from piss poor.

    I have no recollection of this movie even though I’ve seen it because all of those types of movies run together for me, and I contintue to watch them.

    At any rate, I’m the homebodiest of homebodies so I hear you.

  3. Seriously love Kit! She’s on my list – its laminated 🙂

  4. Kit was definitely my favorite character in that too, that Paula got on my nerves and was WAY too high maintanence. I also saw some of myself in that character too, so it made me like her much more, of course. 😉

  5. “Yeah, everyone from work went to T.G.I. Friday’s, but I don’t really like that place. Or anyone I work with.”

    Hi-larious.

    I love her.

    And your drunken realization . . . that is very close to my life as well. I love being at home. My stuff is there, my couch is there, my dog is there, and I can turn my phone on “airplane mode” and not be bothered. LOVE that.

  6. I do my best thinkin when drinkin. I am a fellow Paula to Kit evolvee (is that even a word?). I think the Kit in me has a more realistic point of view of the world, a level of sarcasm that makes me interesting and a ton of fun to be around. Is that really so bad?

  7. You write a great blog Marina, definitely never discount the strength and clarity of drunken epiphanies. 🙂

    This might be my first comment, but I’ve always enjoyed reading!

  8. One of my favorite movies..Kit being one of my favorite characters in it. I do have to admit Matthew is sooo easy to watch through the movie. Yes I have a crush on him. 🙂
    I was the cheerleader and all that but have always done it with the Kit attitude. I think as we get older it’s easy to shed the cheerleader type and evolve into the Kit because you learn “who gives a shit!” Last weekend I was out with the family which included an 18 year old cousin. We were in a bar at 1 in the afternoon, there was a band playing so my other cousin and I were out cutting a rug, no one else out there just us and I had only had one beer so I didn’t have the i’m drunk and going to look like an ass excuse. My poor 18 year old cousin was so embarrassed because she still gives a shit. One day young grasshopper you will learn…Fuck it! And it’s the best feeling in the world. Life’s to short to give a shit all the time.

  9. I absolutely love Kit!!!! I love Zooey and her sarcasm. 🙂 I love wine too!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

