In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

First and ever foremost, my birthday was great. I got taken to a great restaurant for lunch. Had me a lamb sandwich. Yum Yum and who knew in our mostly Mexican based city?! Then the office got a cake and sung me Happy Birthday. I even blew out candles. I felt like I was 4! It rocked. Though I never did that at four. In fact, that might have been the first time ever I blew out candles. I know, I am such a pagan. Then, my family members from a far called me. That was nice. Then my sister-in-law brought me cake and sung Happy Birthday. So by the end of the day, I was caked out. And frustrated with the Happy Birthday song. Someone needs to revise that song. Who better than the internet!!!

“Once a year we celebrate with stupid hats and plastic plates,
the fact that you were able to make another trip around the sun.
And the whole clan gathers round’ gifts and laughter too will bound,
we let out a joyful sound and sing that stupid song.

Happy Birthday, now your one year older.
Happy Birthday, your life still isn’t over.
Happy Birthday, you did not accomplish much.
But you didn’t die this year i guess that’s good enough.

So lets drink to your fading health, and hope you don’t remind yourself
your chance of finding fame and wealth decrease with every year.
Dose it feel like you’re doing laps, and eating food and taking naps,
and hoping that some day, perhaps, your life will hold some cheer.

Happy Birthday, what have you done that matters?
Happy Birthday, your starting to get fatter.
Happy Birthday, it’s downhill from now on.
Try not to remind yourself your best years are all gone.

If cryogenics were all free then you could live like Walt Disney and live
for all eternity inside a block of ice.
But instead your time is set this is the only life you get,
and though it hasn’t ended yet some times you wish it MIGHT!

Happy Birthday, you wish you had more money.
Happy Birthday, your life is so sad it’s funny.
Happy Birthday, how much more can you take?
But your friends are hungry so just cut the stupid cake.

Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Happy Birthday, Dear…..
(muttering)”.

My realizations come at weird moments. I was driving up the mountain on my way home and listening to The Red Hot Chilli Peppers when it hit me. All religions in some form or another believe that there is a creator. And he created the world, galaxies, stars, planets, animals, plants and of course us. Ok. And then they believe there is some afterlife: heaven and hell. Ok. And then they believe at a designated time, there is going to be mass destruction to the world/bad people. Some people believe in a rapture which I think is a big black bird. 

 Yet, if I am to believe all that, then why is it ludicrous to believe in things as fairies, monsters, big pots of gold at the end of rainbows? Huh? The Lochness Monster must exist. Bigfoot too. Even the Chupacabra! If I am going to believe all that, I gotta believe in baby dragons. If Mormons exist, mythical creatures must too!

Eh, food for thought.

Comments on: "Birthday Update & Religious Thought" (3)

  1. Ha ha! I heard this b-day song once from my parents, “Happy Birthday,Huh! Happy Birthday, Huh! One year closer to death, Happy Birthday!” I was 16. Thanks Mom and Dad.

  2. Happy Birthday, Marina! I’m glad to hear your birthday was great and you got yourself some tasty food too. That’s my favorite part of a birthday, being taken to someplace for dinner that’s really yummy.

    • marinasleeps said:

      Yes yummy food is good for anything. Weddings, birthdays, anniversaries, funerals .. food speaks to everyone. Except if your dead. Then it doesn’t speak to you.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

