In the room where I sleep … my thoughts overflow.

Normally, we do judge a book by its cover though we try not too. I know I do occasionally. Ever since the damn movie Deliverance , I was scared shitless of hillbillies and figured if I didn’t venture fat east I was safe.

However, I saw one movie that taught me a valuable lesson.

Don’t judge hillbillies. They all aren’t crazy murderers. Some are sweet guys who like to fish and drink beer and have marvelous intellect. Some can barely to talk to girls!

I am talking about…

Tucker & Dale Vs Evil

Tucker & Dale vs Evil is a hilariously gory, good-spirited horror comedy, doing for killer rednecks what Shaun of the Dead did for zombies. Tucker and Dale are two best friends on vacation at their dilapidated mountain house. Everything is going fine until some preppy college kids who are vacationing in the woods mistaken them for murderous backwoods psycho killing hillbillies.

And are they?

Of course not.

These two hillbillies are the most nicest, sweetest guys who are just trying to restore their “vacation home” . As was mentioned, Dale can’t talk to girls and “wouldn’t even hurt a fish.”

The story goes one young girl college student gets hurt and is rescued by Dale. Her friends think that Dale and Tucker have hurt and kidnapped her. And from there this movie turns into a hilarious misunderstanding!! As the misunderstanding gets bigger and bigger so does the body count.

This is totally what it looks like!

This misunderstanding of the hillbillies plays through the whole movie, as the kids try to rescue the girl  from what they think is “Evil” (Tucker & Dale) but in doing so they wind up killing themselves in awesome ways. Tucker & Dale don’t understand why the kids are dying either or why the kids keep trying to hurt them. That one misconception about Tucker & Dale plays throughout the entire film, this movie hinges on one joke and it does it well. You would think that it would get stale after a while, but actually no. Thanks to good comedic performances and great kills, this movie succeeds.

Ok, now this is not what it looks like!

In this picture about, the boys just finished pulling out the body from wood chipper and a cop is there. How do you explain this?

Tucker: Oh hidy ho officer, we’ve had a doozy of a day. There we were minding our own business, just doing chores around the house, when kids started killing themselves all over my property.

The story is built about one misconception and it even weighs in on the love story in the movie  that is unfolding…

Dale: You thought I looked like some kind of freak?
The Hot Girl That Gets Rescued: We misjudged you Dale. I’m… I’m really sorry.
Dale: Don’t be sorry, it’s my fault. I should have known if a guy like me talked to a girl like you, somebody would end up dead.

As you can probably tell, I love this movie.

It was perfect and extremely different. It was funny and stupid and hilarious but it was terribly entertaining too. The story line? You totally buy it!!

It had horror, gore, and laughs galore. And the lovable guy still gets the girl.

So, never judge a man by his overalls. He might just kick your ass in Trivia!

Comments on: "Thursday Movie Review- Never Judge a Hillbilly by His Overalls" (7)

  1. I’m actually interested now. I’m still a fan of Teeth in being, welll fucking practically scary to all males, and yet gory funny at the same time

  2. I knew when I saw the title you watched this movie! It was sooooooo hilarious!

  3. Sweet description! I’m so tempted already, curious to watch it!

  4. My son would like this!
    Great review! You should do your own website!

Leave a comment